Stamp River Fishing Report

Nov 14 2016

River Still in Flood Watch/Warning but starting to ease

A summary of river conditions as of mid-morning today:
  • Sproat River near Port Alberni (08HB008) is at a water level of 3.81 m and flow is 207 m3/s. Flood conditions are still prevalent on the river and are expected to persist through to Wednesday or Thursday, however additional rises are unlikely.
  • Ash River below Moran Creek (08HB023) is flowing at 112 m3/s, which is below the 2-year return period flow. The river gradually increased overnight and is stable this morning. River levels are expected to begin to drop tonight.
  • The estimated flow in the Somass River near Port Alberni is approximately 607 m3/s, which is close to the 2-year return period flow.

The Stamp River and tributaries continue to be in full on blown out status and we haven't fished this past week at all, the next few days do not look any better. The ground has absorbed water to maximum saturation so any rainfall will result in more massive flows.

If there are no more rains we expect to be fishing the upper river by Friday.
 

River Guages

DFO has a series of gauges on the river which we utilize to share information on levels.  The equipment at Stamp Falls have been removed to prevent damage caused by the river force. So for an indicator we are looking at Robertson Creek Hatchery which is on the very upper Stamp River.  This will be the first to drop since its near the headwaters.  It is not a good indicator of what is going on down stream below all the other in flowing tributaries. This area is the first to drop.

The other functioning gauge is the Sproat River. In high water conditions this is very helpful towards indicating the trend but it is a very short river with Sproat lake behind it.

For this snapshot I have included the thirty day trend so you can see where we are relatively.

Sproat River Level as of Nov 7 2016   Roberston Creek Hatchery River Level As of Nov 7 2016

Weekly Weather Outlook

Port Alberni Weather Outlook


Our services are now on the "Winter Program" which mean day charters are available with our without accommodations.  We do provide accommodations for those who require them with a full breakfast and boxed lunches.

Available Dates:

Date Availability
 Nov 2 Wednesday  Cancelled High Water
 Nov 3 Thursday  Cancelled High Water
 Nov 4 Friday  Cancelled High Water
Nov 5 Saturday Cancelled High Water
Nov 6 Sunday Cancelled High Water
Nov 7 Monday Cancelled High Water
Nov 8 Tuesday Cancelled High Water
Nov 9 Wednesday guides on vacation
Nov 10 Thursday guides on vacation
Nov 11 Friday guides on vacation
Nov 12 Saturday River blown out
Nov 13 Sunday River blown out
Nov 14 Monday River blown out
Nov 15 Tuesday River blown out
Nov 16 Wednesday 2 boats available
Nov 17 Thursday 2 boats available
Nov 18 Friday 2 boats available
Nov 19 Saturday Booked
Nov 20 Sunday 2 boats available
Nov 21 Monday 2 boats available
Nov 22 to Dec call for availability

SMINTER STEELHEAD These Steelhead forage like trout before the middle of October and then completely switch to eating eggs when the Chinook salmon start to spawn. Day Charters only $450 for two persons! Trip Details »

David and Marilyn Murphy (brother and sister team)

Call anytime for the latest conditions and reports
250-723-8022
murphy@island.net

Professional Contributor to:

Fishtactics ~ Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum ~ Fishing with Rod ~ BC Outdoors Magazine